People are only just realising little-known penalty rule that rarely comes into play in matches
SOME fans were left stunned after learning a penalty rule that rarely comes into play in matches.
Chelsea star Kai Havertz recently had a goal chalked off while playing for Germany against Peru.
Hansi Flick’s side were awarded a spot kick in the second half for a foul committed on Nico Schlotterbeck.
Havertz’s initial strike hit the post, before rebounding straight back to him.
The 23-year-old tucked the ball into the back of the net… but the goal couldn’t stand.
That’s because nobody else had touched it since he took his penalty, with rules stating that a player cannot strike a spot kick twice.
Germany went on to win 2-0 courtesy of a Niclas Fullkrug double.
But some fans came away stunned at learning why Havertz was denied his goal.
One wrote on TikTok: “I was today years old when I learnt this.”
A second moaned: “This has to be the worst rule ever.”
BETTING SPECIAL – BEST FOOTBALL BETTING SITES IN THE UK
And a third opined: “I think that’s a bad rule, after he shot it’s normal play again.”
Another user added: “Been playing football for 19 years of my life and never knew this lol.”
And a further commenter somewhat concerningly added: “I’m a referee and I didn’t know this.”